Paul E Blo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Got my deposit cancelled and lost 656.98 to this horrible company!!!!

The phone customer service rep. took my deposit and said the balance had to be paid on another date. He told me they store the card info and charge it on that specific date. Not to worry. That didn't happen. Following day after that specific date I got an email that the rental has been cancelled. I would recommend anyone thinking about using this company DO NOT !!!Lots of other companies out there. I lost 656.98 deposit.
View full review
Loss:
$657

Preferred solution: Full refund

Michael W Hhy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Can no longer load my site

Dear FlipKey I just restarted my site after shutting it down and several years of not using it. When going through all the new requirements, it requested my Social Security number, which I refuse to give out to entities that are not required to have it. If you visit the SS website it instructs you not to give out SS #s to anyone except those entitled to it - Social Security, IRS, Medical entities and Banks. And even those entities only use the last 4 digits in communications. Flipkey is not allowed to have my SS#, and with 830,000 homes in 190 countries, Flipkey is ripe for hacking, with all those names, addresses, methods of payment, and please don't tell me you are protected - nobody is safe, even companies like Sony, Facebook, Equifax, even the NSA. Since refusing to provide that number, I backed out of my site. Now when I try to bring it up, it won't load. Obviously, if you shut me out, I can't make bookings, and you don't make money. Smart move on your part. PEASE EXPLAIN WHAT YOU INTEND TO DO ABOUT THIS. Thank you and sincerely Michael Walter Cell: 618-586-**** Email: zumamike2001@***.com
View full review
Pros:
  • Very good - when it works
Cons:
  • That i am locked out of my site
  • I did not like being locked out of my site

Preferred solution: See my complaint email

Nick S Ktl

Flipkey sucks

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I have the same story. Hold the entire cost of rental just to find out they are not avail and flipkey holds the full amount and tells you there is nothing they can do and you have to wait 3-5 days for it to go away.

Once 5 days hits and numerous calls to flipkey managers and quality control team I get told it’s gonna take 10 days to clear. Meanwhile I cannot use my card because flipkey has $3700 in credit tied up in authorizations and every time I call to get it removed I get told, there is nothing we can do, or, or finance team is in UK and they are not open. If you are able to get a flipkey manager, they will not do anything to help you. They go out of their way to make sure you know they are just there to answer phones but cannot actually handle any problems because they suck.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Flipkey is a scam. Do not get suckered like thousands already have

View full review
Loss:
$4000
Cons:
  • Customer service
  • Flipkey is a scam
  • Will not release deposits
Reason of review:
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

Preferred solution: Full refund

Diana Zoq
map-marker Cleveland, Ohio

TERRIBLE... AND THEY LIED

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
FlipKey - TERRIBLE... AND THEY LIED
We found a house we were going to rent. called to verify cancellation policy in the event of a hurricane. Booked over the phone for an agreed deposit (which was on the site) of 996.00, total booking of 3300. hung up, and about 30 minutes later got a call that they changed the rate to 6300.00, and charged our card for 2240.00... WITHOUT OUR APPROVAL!!! we obviously cancelled. however they WILL charge you more than you agreed upon and feel like we have been baited and our card info is now out there.
View full review
Reason of review:
charged without permission!!
Kimbely Odf

Flipkey is a scam

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
This scam company sent fake booking requests when I tried to cancel as you could not get in touch with the alleged client and you can’t cancel Online. You have to call Nigeria where one of their scam artits tries to extract a $150 cancellation fee. Their Nigerian said he was suspending the scam account! Stay away from this scam and this scam company
View full review
Anonymous

Wtf why are you calling me?

They called me and left a voicemail to respond to some email they supposedly sent. There is no email and I've never done business with Flipkey.
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Nashville, Tennessee

DO NOT USE FLIP KEY

I am currently in a dispute with flip key over a a booking fee that they refuse to refund. Long story short - I booked a condo on March 4th, 2019 and cancelled the next day on March 5th, 2019 due to a family loss. The owner was more than willing to refund all my deposit, but was unable to refund the $218.28 "booking fee." I would understand if I cancelled a week or more later or if the trip was a month away, but I did not. In the cancellation policy it states, "If cancelled within 24 hours and the trip is 60 days or more away, A 100% refund will be given." It also states that, "Unless cancelled within the 24 hour cooling off period the fee is non-refundable." I cancelled within 24 hours and my trip was not booked until July 2019. If the booking fee was non refundable under ALL circumstances, that should have been posted in the policy, but it was not. I have sent all the screen shots of this information from their website, and they are the least bit helpful. I filed a dispute through Pay Pal, and they now reached out to me still unhelpful and stating they will charge me. If you want to lose money and do business the a corrupt company, I definitely recommend Flip Key!
View full review
3 comments
Guest

Any resolve yet???? In same disputes

Kimbely Odf

Flip key is a scam! BBB has hundreds of complaints

Guest

You just being victim of scam.

View more comments (2)
Ron E Htv
map-marker Hilton Head Island, South Carolina

Bait and Switch

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Mar 12, 2019

As of 3/12/19 I have not heard anything from FlipKey. We are planning our 2020 winter retreat and will not be using FlipKey unless they can satisfy the customer.

It would be nice if the company would at least acknowledge my issue with them. We will be looking at other...

Original review Feb 10, 2019
FlipKey Home# 1004****
Attached is a screen shot, taken on Saturday 2/09/19, of the Detail Quote for staying 56 nights ( 1/4/20 – 2/29/20)
Detailed Quote Amounts:Rate for 56 nights$1,968.00Cleaning Fee 189.55Damage Waiver 86.78Tax 226.32FlipKey Booking Fee 322.38 Total $2,772.03
Since my wife and I were interested in the Villa I did a Live Chat with Sarah Kristia, from Trip Advisor to confirm the displayed rate which she did – Reference number 1294****.
I was later informed by Eva from Vesteva Rentals & Property Management that the rate was not correct.
This was the 2nd time that we were interested in a property advertised on FlipKey that the displayed price was inaccurate. It shows indications of bait and switch, meaning select another property.
There was no effort made to make it right to the customer. I would not recommend using FlipKey especially when there are other companies that advertise properties for Snowbirds.
Ron
View full review
Cons:
  • Bait and switch
Reason of review:
Pricing issue

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Anonymous

Flipkey Scam

Paid Flipkey, was told I would get a key and it could be refunded. It was not, lost $3,300. Flipkey account got deleted and the email associated with it got hacked.
View full review
Reason of review:
Problems with payment
Sharon J Qum

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Boston, Massachusetts

Heartless

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Imagine this and can't make this up. We booked for Sept 2018 and had to cancel and rebook with almost losing my husband to bypass surgery.

So, we changed the rental to the last week in November. Everyone was supportive because we rebooked. Then imagine what happens next. You a week out from vacation then realize your dog is diagnosed with two brain tumors and FlipKey doesn't help you to try and get any of your money back.

Like you planned this!! And the owner, Dan Sercino is a pathetic and greedy person without a heart to give something back to us for the amount we paid. I will never use FlipKey or Dan's rental. So be warned that both are not willing to help and be so heartless.

A 28 lb cockapoo 8 years old can't travel yet I am told they can't do anything.

Really! Our world has come to heartless people that the poor dog didn't ask for this either.

View full review
Loss:
$848
Cons:
  • That they wouldnt help with the owner
Reason of review:
Problems with payment

Preferred solution: At least give us our deposit back

Michael C Ohs

The worst experience of my life

FlipKey - The worst experience of my life
FlipKey - The worst experience of my life - Image 2
FlipKey - The worst experience of my life - Image 3

NEVER USE THIS SERVICE READ THE STORY.

I contacted Flipkey on line and found a house for my travel from Jan 23 to the 29th I booked it in December 22 days earlier. My cc card was not charged a deposit but the full amount.When I called to get the door code I was contacted by the landlord telling me that the property that was issued to me on paper was not available and (my lucky day, I was told) she had a better property with a jacuzzi and just a better place. She painted a good picture. I got the address (no one told me to contact FlipKey about the switch or did I see anything to direct me to flipkey).

There were 3 people that were coming. Myself and another person showed up and the place seemed nice enough. Then came the cockroaches, the bedroom that the 3rd person had no vents for heat, so he passed on staying there. The stove fan or exhaust fan did not work. Cockroaches everywhere and the place had spiders and was filthy. See the pic I have sent so far. I contacted the person I talked to about the switch and was told I should have contacted her in advance about the problems not when I did. If I owned a house to rent out I would have disclosed the important information to the renter. They knew the condition of the house but did not disclose any information to me as to the condition other then it is better then the one I paid IF FULL, THEY DID NOT CHARGE A DEPOSIT LIKE THEY ARE SUPPOSE TO. Enclosed are some pictures and there are more to come with a video of another cockroach

The house I was supposed to get it is on the original paperwork. The one I got was ***************************. I offered an option to resolve this matter because of the problems but she would not agree and told me all I was looking for was a discount. This whole deal was misrepresented from the get go. They should be removed from your site as a client. They do not represent Flip key in a positive light. I have used Flip key many times in the past and never had a problem or dealt with such a greedy person. I disputed it with my cc company but flip-key denied it 3 times saying it was 22 day until in started the dispute. WRONG I talked to the bait and switch landlord 2 days after we took possession of it. They did not even read it. They have 6 pages of fine print so, unless you are a lawyer you will not win. I was denied 3 times from my cc company through flip key and 3 times from flip key . All i wanted was 1/3 refunded. Stay away from these phonies your trip is about them not you. They get a commission from the landlords up front. I was told that they would try again but never got back to me.

View full review
Loss:
$2300
Cons:
  • Worst customer service ever
Reason of review:
bait and switch and flip not reading the complaint

Preferred solution: Full refund

Donna B Cvt
map-marker Elgin, Illinois

Reservation was cancelled without my knowledge

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Reservation made 2 months ago. Called to inquire if we home was available a day early. Didn’t reserve it, reservation was cancelled without my knowledge. Full refund was to be sent after several hours in the phone. Refund was shy $260, they are telling me it’s a booking fee, which shouldn’t even be charged since it was erroneously cancelled. Only customer service available is in India,which is very difficult to deal with based on “yds ma’am I understand, I see your upset, blah blah
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Anne A Ukr
map-marker Boston, Massachusetts

HORRIBLE SERVICE

MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE EVER!!!! CUSTOMER BEWARE!!!! I booked my vacation in April 2018 for a December 2018 family vacation. Today for no reason, my PAID reservation was cancelled. I am screwed!!!!! Flip Key so kindly tried to offer me another reservation double the price on me! They offered me a 160.00 credit are you KIDDING ME?????
View full review
Loss:
$1600
Reason of review:
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Travel Expert Talks

Travel Tips: Airbnb VS Traditional Renting

Oct 30, 2020

Is it safe to rent from local vacation rental owners? What are the pros and cons of Airbnb and VRBO? Mary Branum, a vacation rentals expert, shares her tips on how to look for places to stay, what are the best vacation rentals websites, how to avoid scams during bookings, and what to do if you face some issues.

Read full article
Mary Branum
Mary Branum

Mary Branum is a vacation rental expert, owner of Galveston Island and President of STROAG.

Cheryl F Vxp
map-marker Boston, Massachusetts

REFUSED MY PAID UPFRONT DAMAGE FEES

I CONTACTED FLIPKEY TO REFUND MY PAID, UPFRONT DAMAGE DEPOSIT, WHICH WAS CONFIRMED AS PART OF THE RENTAL TOTAL BY THE OWNER. FLIP HAS TWO WAYS TO PROCESS DAMAGE DEPOSITS, ONE IN WHICH THEY DON'T CHARGE UNTIL A CLAIM IS MADE (SO NO DEPOSIT IS ACTUALLY MADE), THE OTHER IF A DAMAGE DEPOSIT IS PAID UPFRONT AS PART OF THE RENTAL FEE.

THE LATTER PROCESS APPLIES TO ME. I CONTACTED THE OWNER AND SHE CONFIRMED I WOULD RECEIVE IT IN 10 DAY, BUT NOOOOO!!!!, FLIPKEY'S "LEA" TOLD ME I NEVER PAID IT, STARTED ASKING FOR MY BANK ACCOUNT RECORDS (THEY SHOULD KNOW IT THEY TOOK THE PAYMENT) AND TOLD ME THAT THE DAMAGE DEPOSIT WAS NEVER PAID.

DESPITE SENDING EMAILS FROM THE OWNER CONFIRMING THIS, AND SHOWING HER FLIPKEY'S OWN RULES, SHE INSISTS ON THE CANNED ANSWER THAT I WASN'T CHARGED. STUPID IS AS STUPID DOES.

View full review
Loss:
$500
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Full refund

Harry B Wgu
map-marker Boston, Massachusetts

Allowed Tenant To Rent My Property w/out My Knowledge or Approval

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I was served a seize and desist order from the City of Napa stating they will pursue legal action and fines for illegal renting a property. Said property is actually an investment rental of mine and the tenant was illegally renting it out without my knowledge.

Flipkey was unwilling to confirm or provide any evidence of who set up or controlled the account and was unwilling to provide a letter that I could submit to the city stating that I was not the person renting the property on Flipkey. This is after providing proof of my identity and ownership of the property.

They are the entity that allowed the property to be rented and should be required to at least provide who was renting the property (tenant is denying it was them) and a letter stating that it wasn't me.

View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
1 comment
Guest

I am dealing with a situation with FLIPKEY , I am a property owner and believe they are corresponding with potential renters on my behalf acting as if the emails came from me.I had a booking for tomorrow May 24 to 28, I just had a cancellation that FLIPKEY made on my behalf. I called Flipkey and complained that the renters are due to check in tomorrow and I have a cancellation policy.

They told me the renter paid (2 months ago March 20) by credit card and the charges were fraudulent.

This is nonsense the costumer had a change of plans and did not want to pay the cancellation fee and FLIPKEY aided and abetted them by dealing with them with my email as if it was me corresponding with renter....They basically hacked into my account....Has this ever happened to anyone else? They are no Airbnb or VRBO something is not right with this company.

Anonymous

Excellent service

It was such a pleasure to get such friendly and sufficient service. My problem was solved immediately. Thank you very much it is much appreciated
View full review
Reason of review:
Good customer service

About

Related Companies

TripAdvisor, Viator, HolidayLettings, Cruise Critic, Vacation Home Rentals

Summary

FlipKey is a TripAdvisor company and powers the vacation rental experience on TripAdvisor. TripAdvisor-branded sites alone make up the largest travel community in the world, with 20 million members and over 50 million reviews and opinions. Properties listed on FlipKey are exposed to more than 150 million unique monthly visitors on FlipKey and TripAdvisor. FlipKey is intended to make it easy, safe, and fun to find and book the perfect place to stay. Named the Top Vacation Rental Site by Travel Leisure, FlipKey has also appeared in many other top-tier media outlets including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, USA Today, SmartMoney, the LA Times, and MSNBC. It features 200,000 vacation homes located in over 11,000 cities throughout the world. FlipKey also features the largest collection of authentic guest reviews and photos in the industry. Over 5,000 special deals are featured on the site every day.

FlipKey reviews and complaints

FlipKey is ranked 135 out of 895 in Travel category

Area Served

USA

Payment Methods

American ExpressDiscoverVISA

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article